mk1000 Nutplate

Cozy1200

Is it normal for nutes plate to be somewhat squashed? All 4 of mine appear to be slightly smashed. I ran a bolt into one and it went in without much problem.

Four of these nutplates took me 2 hours to make! I was probably overly careful with laying it out and making it, but it's good practice.

post-336-141090166217_thumb.jpg

Drew Chaplin (aka the Foam Whisperer)

---

www.Cozy1200.com - I'm a builder now! :cool:

---

Brace for impact...

Is it normal for nutes plate to be somewhat squashed? All 4 of mine appear to be slightly smashed. I ran a bolt into one and it went in without much problem.

Four of these nutplates took me 2 hours to make! I was probably overly careful with laying it out and making it, but it's good practice.

The nutplates are squashed on purpose for bolt/screw retention. Think of them as locknuts. Great for preventing your fastners from falling out under vibration. They also have a little dry lube wich can account for ease of installation of your bolt. (Clean it with acetone and it's not so easy!)

The front of the AirForce F-4 Phantom jet intake was covered with hidden nut plates. Imagine a screw coming loose and going down the intake with a running engine. Don't ask me how I know this!!! Think 'grip length' of your fastner going into the nutplate.

Your nutplate looks purdey! Nice work.

Just one thing... when you remove a bolt fron said nutplate... THEY ARE TO BE SCRAP.. they loose all (well not all but their intended) retention capabilities. In short they are a one shot deal...

Well at least in the certified world...

Drew, thats how they work.

For nutplates you might want to get some G-10 epoxy/glass circuit board substrate, the common size is 1/16" thick. It just like laying up 6-8 layers of BD with MGS. Scruff it up and glass it in with some flox, great for mounting all kinds of stuff.

..Chrissi & Randi

CG Products

www.CozyGirrrl.com

Cozy Mk-IV RG 13B Turbo

Drew, thats how they work.