Epoxy Mixing

Cozy1200

How long to you mix your epoxy  

25 members have voted

1. 1. How long to you mix your epoxy

Time for another poll.

I think I read some someones website that they only stirred the epoxy for 30 seconds or so.

I curious how long everyone mixes their epoxy.

So far I've stuck to the 2 minutes suggestion. At about a minute I can tell from the consistency that it appears ready to use.

So how long are you mixing your epoxy?

I'm using MGS 285 and mixing for 2 minutes.

Drew Chaplin (aka the Foam Whisperer)

---

www.Cozy1200.com - I'm a builder now! :cool:

---

Brace for impact...

Drew,

If you look at the MGS you can see that it is not mixed, streaks etc, also scrape sides and bottom of the cup... there is no way 30 sec would do it. Also set each used cups on the table to check the next day.. take something sharp and do a scratch test. Save and reuse the cups too. The little bit you have left will coat the sides and the bottom ready snooth to make a new batch.

The ones you use to mix micro or flox in just scrape out what you can, smooth down the rest with a stick, leave the bottoms clean as you can and reuse them for mixing more micro or flox, we have some that the sides have 3/4" buildup on them.

...Chrissi

CG Products

www.CozyGirrrl.com

Cozy Mk-IV RG 13B Turbo

For larger batches, say, >100g, I mix 2 minutes.

I then get down to a minimum of 1 minute as the batches get smaller.

Stirring efficiency, IMO, is inversely proportional to batch size.

Chrissi's right about the "streaks" thing too.

I hate it when I'm wishy-washy.:o

"I run with scissors."

Cozy MKIV N85TT

Phase One Testing

http://home.earthlink.net/~jerskip

I don't do it by time. I count strokes.

Time is not a true measure of work done anymore than it is in building a plane.

I agree here.