Bid Tapes

Cozy1200

Ok so tonight I bid taped the bulkheads into the sides. IT'S STARTING TO LOOK LIKE AN PLANE!

look, a plane, a plane!

I marked the shape of the bid tapes on aluminum foil using a felt tip marker. Did the 2 ply bid and then used the dritz scissors to cut to size.

The problem I'm having is that the black lines is coming off onto the edge of the tapes. The black line is then visible in the final layup.

How is this to be avoided? I'd like to stick with aluminum foil.

ok maybe it doesn't look like a plane.

look, a bathtub, a bathtub. :)

Drew Chaplin (aka the Foam Whisperer)

---

www.Cozy1200.com - I'm a builder now! :cool:

---

Brace for impact...

My process:

Cut some BID a bit wider than needed. 5" for 2- 2" tapes.

Lay them on a piece of poly.

Drizzle epoxy on, move it around. Add a top sheet of poly, squeegee well.

Use the 2" blade of my framing square (the other blade is 1.5" BTW)

Slice one raw edge straight with a utility knife. Slice the other edge. Take to the build. Gently fold in half, crease lightly. Remove one layer of poly, apply to wet joint, press out the bubbles w/ a rag. Remove top sheet, stipple gently, peel-ply.

Rick

Rick Hall; MK-IV plans #1477; cozy.zggtr.org

Build status: 1-7, bits of 8-9, 10, 14 done! Working on engine/prop/avionics.

I guess they didn't get the note that you wanted to keep using the aluminum foil - ;)

Draw your pattern on clear plastic and cut cloth that is slightly larger all around. Put down foil and lay the cloth on the foil and wet it out. I tape the foil to my workbench and tape the cloth to the foil to keep it from moving around while using the squeegee.