downdraft vs updraft cooling

velocity dreamer

I know very little about free air cooling as it relates with aircraft engines but I will try to explain how I think it works. As a refrigeration mechanic my understanding of the concept in downflow cooling - we call it reverse flow cooling in my trade - is that the cold air coming into the air scoop will first make contact with the warmer section of the engine's cylinders, that is the top horizintal sections ( since heat or hot air rises). Then as the partially warmed up air keeps going down it makes contact with the cooler portion of the cylinders, that is the bottom horizontal portion. In this arrangement maximum heat exchange takes place as the coldest air flow contacts the warmest section of the cylinders first resulting in maximum heat transfer.

In upflow cooling, the cold air coming in the air scoop makes contact with the cooler bottom portion of the engine's cylinders picking up heat and then flows to the top portion. Because the air has already picked up some heat before it makes contact with the warmer top portion of the cylinders the heat transfer that takes place at the warmest location is less. Hence downflow cooling is preferable when maximum heat exchange is desired. I hope this helps and if my understanding of the concept as it relates to aircraft engines is wrong, I would hope to hear from anyone who reads this post. Thanks.

Bruno Caron

• 3 months later...

My understanding of downdraft vs. updraft is as follows.

With updraft, high speed air is forced to change direction quite abruptly to route it over the cylinders.

With downdraft cooling, the air flow is almost a straight line over the cylinders.

With my EZ, you can see the cooling fins of the cylinders by looking straight back through the air intakes.

We built a plenum around the cylinders, so the air has no where to go but over the cooling fins, and then out the back.