About to purchase a VariEze, thoughts?

Higgins918

Hello everyone, I’d like to get your input and opinions on what I should look for during pre-buy of my first variez.  I am new to experimentals having flown only Grumman tigers and Cessnas before with about 300 hours of total time.  Are there any failure points in the aircraft, any parts that have excessive wear I need to keep an eye on, or any big things that I should know in general about these aircraft? Thanks 

I suppose the main thing to be aware of is the Varieze wing attach corrosion problem.  There are many qualified people in S. California who could inspect the airplane.  They may know about it already.  Here is one  who is well-regarded   https://www.burnsideaerospace.com/

There is lots of info out there about these airplanes.

https://www.canardzone.com/forums/topic/38999-buying-long-ez-kit-and-have-questions/?do=findComment&comment=70886

-Kent
Cozy IV N13AM-750 hrs, Long-EZ-85 hrs and sold

I was right about the same time in Cherokees and Cessnas when I flew my VariEze for the first time last November.  I spent time in Covington,TN flying with Ryszard Zadow in the Speed Canard to learn.  This was the best money spent in the entire process.  I now have about 30 hours in the Varieze since November.  So much fun to fly!

• Like 1

On 5/24/2021 at 12:12 AM, Higgins918 said:

Are there any failure points in the aircraft, any parts that have excessive wear I need to keep an eye on, or any big things that I should know in general about these aircraft? Thanks