wanting a custom canard...

Istrebitel

Alright folks,

Let me start by saying, "I am a noob." Now then, I am intending to build a canard. I want it to be as fast and light as possible. I am a big guy and I'll need a little elbow room, so if I want a two-seater (and I do) I'll have to make some mods.

That said, I have looked at the Berkut. I'm not aware of any other aircraft that are competitive to this. Sorry, EZ guys, I want more speed. If you know of any, speak up! I don't wan't to drop in a bigger motor to go fast. I want a slippery plane.

I really like the stats I've seen on this bird. 250+ knots, less than 10 GPH, 19:1 glide ratio!!! It's my kind of plane. Also, I am considering the Zoche diesel, because of it's (stated) abilties. Yes all of you flamers, I know it's vapor-ware!!! I've posted on this thread:

http://www.canardzone.com/forum/showthread.php?t=1571&page=2

With the combined efficiencies of the a/c and engine, I would like to make some long and fast X-C flying with my wife (no dirty jokes please), so I may need some bigger tanks (Trans-Pacific?). Could I make integral modifications (even 5-10 gal worth) to the plane or would I have to buy/build external tanks?

Also, can this plane be pressurized? To what altitude?

Is there any way to give the plane less drag? Maybe through the canard, or else what?

Who has the most experience on this forum with the Berkut (or any other comparable)?

Financial considerations aside (really), what would be your advice on building this plane?

This is my dream to build. Please, don't bash me. I am excited and enthused to design and build something of this caliber.

Some other factors to consider:

I'm in college and I have 2 years of school left.

I have no kit building experience.

I enjoy building/designing.

I love to fly:).

I'm willing to listen and learn.

I need your help/experience.

I need a Berkut with a Zoche. Whaa? A guy can dream!