Should I buy a Varieze

Gilson

Hello,

I am a student pilot with 80 hours logged, I have decided to purchase a Canard style as my first airplane. I found an old 1985 Varieze with IO-235 for sale. I have a very limited budget and time, so I don't intend to start a project to build an airplane; I would like to repair what is needed and start flying as soon as possible. I found the following opportunity for sale. I live in Georgia, and the airplane is in California; I will have to haul the airplane to Georgia and find someone to help me bring it back to airworthy status.

Engine: Lycoming  IO-235 installed at TTAF of  2736.6, November 3, 2014 (according to both log books), originally it was carburetor O-200.

No ADSB

No weight and balance sheet

Last service done at TTAF 3099.1 

ADSB on left wing nav light

Records back to June, 6th 1985, when it was new.

Paint is in bad condition: Cracked wheel paint, wings and nose

Body is in OK condition, all major pieces in place and working. Small repairs needed (Wheel pants are cracked, tip of nose crushed in a little).

Engine was last ran in 2022 and then put into a storage.

All the gauges are older, analogue gauges ( no glass cockpit or fancy up to date electronics).

So, I am asking this community if this is a good buy or if I should continue looking for an opportunity.

I appreciate your comments.

Happy New Year!

The VE is a really fun machine. Find someone who has experience in mold-less aircraft structures and pick his brains regarding the structure and finishing process if you want to renovate it. It is easy to destroy this kind of structure with “ham handed” workmanship, as the load bearing structures are very thin and can easily be compromised by too much vigorous sanding.

On 1/11/2024 at 12:55 PM, Gilson said:

I am a student pilot with 80 hours logged,