Long EZ Build Time and Price from Plans?

MontanaPilot21

Hi all, I'm new to the forms but not to aviation. I'm a student pilot with 33 hours and am looking at a Long EZ build. How much does it cost to build one from scratch? And what is the time on it? Lastly what are some good resources on the Long EZ? Also are there any Long EZ, or just pilots in Northwest Montana region?

• Like 1

Cost to build one from scratch in 2019 -  $50,000 to $90,000 (Airframe $30k;  Engine $10k to $30k;  Panel $10k to $30k)

Time to Build... 2000 hours to 5000 hours (and anywhere from 2 years to 30 years)

Good Resources....1 The Plans,    2 The Newsletters,    3 Central States Association (Flyins and Newsletters)    4 The Internet (EZ.org, Canard Aviators yahoo email list, Facebook Long-EZ Builders and Pilots group, Squadron III Newsletter (ask for it on the yahoo email list)),    5 EAA

Edited by macleodm3
  • Thanks 1

Andrew Anunson

I work underground and I play in the sky... no problem

• 2 years later...

Hey, I just found this post. I live in Libby, MT and also have an interest in building a Long Eze someday. Have you started building one? I know of one person in Libby that built one and have been planning on talking with him about it. Would you want to join in if we meet up to get a tour of the airplane? My email is joooe6@gmail.com. 

20 minutes ago, Joooe6 said:

Would you want to join in if we meet up to get a tour of the airplane? My email is joooe6@gmail.com. 

Here's a tip from an old guy:  MontanaPilot21's post is two years old.  If you click on his name you will see he only made one post in this wonderful forum so he is probably not a regular reader--or he might be dead.  However, if you click on his name you can send him a direct message which he might see and respond to.  🙂