Newbie Questions

Hey guys I’m Joe. I’m an airline guy up in Canada. I’m getting close to pulling the trigger and buying the Cozy plans from AS&S. I’ve been trying to read and understand as much as I can about the Cozy and the build process. I have a few newbie questions which I hope you guys don’t mind. 

1) Any builders up in Canada?

2) I live in Southern Ontario. Cold snowy winters and hot and humid summers. I’m thinking I’d build smaller components over the winter months in my heated basement and the larger ones in my garage during the summer months? Does that seem feasible? Anyone else here start in their basement?

3) Is building a composite aircraft not really recommended in your house.....with the different chemicals and all? I’ve never used epoxy before. Am I gonna make my wife and kids high when I build? 

4) I don’t know a lot about composites or its temperature properties. It gets very cold in the winter months in Canada. Great aircraft performance but will the extreme cold effect the composite structure of the aircraft if I want to fly it in the cold?

5) Will buying the pre-cut foam cores from a place such as Eureka put a serious dent in the build time? 

That’s about all I can think of for now 
Take care
Joe

That’ll work. I built in my basement.  Building can get pretty messy but the smell and fumes are not very bad.  Yes, the Eureka are a good price, good quality, and will save some time.

Cold wx does not affect these airplanes but i would not fly in ice, heavy rain or nasty IMC. The plans heat system probably needs improving for Canada.  There are some Canadian builders on the Cozybuilders list.

-Kent
Cozy IV N13AM-750 hrs, Long-EZ-85 hrs and sold

Hi Joe,

Phillip Johnson is in Southern Ontario and has a very nice Cozy.

http://www.canardaviation.com/PhillipJohnson/