backup Handheld radio antenna

Cozy1200

Just pondering some future plans.

I plan on putting a com antenna in each winglet and having two radios in the panel.

I'd also like to have the ability to hook up a handheld radio in case say electrical failure. I envision a BNC connector somewhere on or under the panel that could be hook up easily in flight.

What are the suggestions from the gurus?

can I 'Y' off one of the antennas? Put a third antenna in somewhere? Forget the external antenna all together, use the whip antenna on the handheld?

I'm still at least a year off, but just thinking about it tonight. (thinking of building, not actually building because I'm sitting in a hotel in the middle of nowhere Australia)

Drew Chaplin (aka the Foam Whisperer)

---

www.Cozy1200.com - I'm a builder now! :cool:

---

Brace for impact...

Drew, I have a panel Comm and an Icom that I take on cross countries. I have two winglet antennas. The second antenna RG-400 coax is up in the left leg well which I can connect if I don't get range. I had planned to add a B&C recpeptacle and carry an extension.

Cheers,

Wayne Blackler

IO-360 Long EZ

VH-WEZ (N360WZ)

Melbourne, AUSTRALIA

http://v2.ez.org/feature/F0411-1/F0411-1.htm

G'day Drew

I would recommend putting a splitter in line with both antennas. and running them to a BNC plug (or two).

I have used the whip antenna that comes with an icom handheld for years, but I also have a BNC plug on my panel of my C172 that gives me connection to the external antenna.

I find the range is better with the external antenna and in Oz you just may want the extra range.

Try the splitter solution is my suggestion and then you can use the handheld to troubleshoot the radios and antennas...

Hope this helps.

Jeff

Either a Splitter or a Tee fitting are both the wrong answer.

Neither provide isolation between the high RF Power output of the transmitter and the delicate receiver input amplifier.