New Guy, Looking at the Cozy-IV

Hey all,

Im a propeller engineer living in the Dayton OH area. Working on my private pilots licence and will peruse IFR after. (Im the guy on the left in blue in my profile picture) Im looking to start scratch building a Cozy-IV. Some day the plan is to build a Velocity turbo XLRG but that will be ~$250k so that has to wait. What doesn't tho is scratch building the C-IV. I was originally looking at building a long EZ however I know id quickly grow out of it as my goal is to take myself, my 2 dogs, and occasionally a passenger or two, cross country fast. So ive pretty well settled on a C-IV. Once I finish renovating my house I plan to get myself some plans and start in on it. 

Being a propeller engineer I plan to get a constant speed prop put on the thing, curious if anyone else has a CS prop currently?

Lots of other newbie questions:

1) Why is the rear seat weight limit in the Cozy-IV 300lbs? Is this arbitrary like the "300lb front seat limit"? I have several pilot friends and we all weigh ~180lbs and id like to put two 180lb people in the back for short breakfast runs (ik its cozy back there lol) 

2) What is the max takeoff weight? I think ive seen 2050lbs quoted most often but the CG calculator sheet I found (from cozybuilders.org)  has 2175lbs as the max??

3) I see lots of talk about nose extensions on the Cozy....Why? 

4) Price estimate to build the airframe only? My best guess is 18k-20k?

Edited by Evan West

There are pushers with CS props but the props are expensive, heavier (?) and it is expensive to repair damage from stones or a tip-back.