Long-EZ Antenna Question

TPowerCo

Hi,

The fellow who sold me his Long-EZ plans now has a few other items to sell. One of the items is labeled "Transparent High Gain Antenna Tape" and from the photo (which I've attached) it appears as though he purchased it from Rocky Mountain Instrument. I contacted them to get the skinny on this item and their reply was that this is not one of their products. I assume the current owner purchased this antenna in the 80's so maybe it is just an old/discontinued product.

Anyhow, my question: Since so much has changed over the years, does this look like something I would want to use in my Long-EZ? What do you suppose it is worth? Bear in mind I'm a complete rookie when it comes to radios/avionics and so far have no idea what will be in my panel.

Thanks. Much appreciated.

Tom

Alberta, Canada

post-962-141090168232_thumb.jpg

I'm gonna step out on a limb here, but does the package contain a length of copper foil self-stick tape, a length of coax, and some toroid beads (powdered metal donuts)? Standard antennas for composite construction, and relatively inexpensive.

What do the instruction say?

Rick

Rick Hall; MK-IV plans #1477; cozy.zggtr.org

Build status: 1-7, bits of 8-9, 10, 14 done! Working on engine/prop/avionics.

I've seen Star Trek IV, but they blabbed about transparent aluminum. This is transparent copper, must be another series...

Sorry, I don't have an opinion about it, but it does seem pretty clear they intend you use it as an antenna.

Mark Spedding - Spodman
Darraweit Guim - Australia
Cozy IV #1331 -  Chapter 09
www.mykitlog.com/Spodman
www.sites.google.com/site/thespodplane/the-spodplane

Spodman and Rick,