Cozy or Areocanard???????

KS canard builder

I have been researching building a canard airplane for a few months now. Canards have really gotten my attention and I would really enjoy the process of building an airplane.

During my research I have found out that many aspiring people set out to build a Cozy and make it to about Chap 9 or 10 and start to sputter out. So with this I have a few questions....

1. What is the difference between a Cozy and an Areocanard? I have noticed that many people build a Cozy with Areocanard modifications. Is one better than the other? If so why?

2. Do you think a builder would have a better chance finishing an airplane with Areocanard since it is built from pre-built parts?

3. I would enjoy seeing a Cozy. If anyone in the central Kansas area has one, I would love to bring my wife out to see it sometime. She has bought into the process, but I would love to do anything I could to prevent AIDS...

Thanks for listening.:)

I have been researching building a canard airplane for a few months now. Canards have really gotten my attention and I would really enjoy the process of building an airplane.

During my research I have found out that many aspiring people set out to build a Cozy and make it to about Chap 9 or 10 and start to sputter out. So with this I have a few questions....

Okay, go ahead..

1. What is the difference between a Cozy and an Areocanard? I have noticed that many people build a Cozy with Areocanard modifications. Is one better than the other? If so why?

It depends on what you mean by better. If you're planning on building an Aerocanard from plans, it's pretty much the same thing as a Cozy. The Aerocanard kits can be viewed at: http://aerocad.com/

The basic kits are the "SB", which stands for "Standard Body" and is the same dimensions as the Cozy Mark IV. The Aerocanard kit is a bit larger than the standard body. Both in kit form can be time savers for anyone interested.