Modification of Cozy with 3LS

gontek

I really like the canard configuration but what I really want is a 3LS, like a 4 seat version of the Piaggio P.180 Avanti. I am not really sure but I don't think it's been done before.

Here's what my research has turned up:

http://forums.x-plane.org/lofiversion/index.php?t24139.html

This one almost hits it on the head. Think Avanti with Adam twin booms and Cozy/EZ pusher configuration.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Aceair_AERIKS_200

http://www.kiwiaircraftimages.com/eagle.html

And of course check out the Avanti.

I imagine a 3LS would have a lot of the desirable characteristics of the Cozy for instance the handling would be improved and takeoff run decreased.

Has anyone seen anything like this, and how much time and money should I spend on this idea. I have lots of time and very little money :) I'd like to design it in my free time - I have an aero engineering degree but have a lot to learn about composites and experimental homebuilding. Actually one of my professors designed the avanti!

Has anyone seen anything like this...

None other than those you've mentioned.

...and how much time and money should I spend on this idea.

"Should"? You would need to spend all of it.

I have lots of time and very little money :)

Hmmm... time can be converted into money.

I'd like to design it in my free time - I have an aero engineering degree but have a lot to learn about composites and experimental homebuilding. Actually one of my professors designed the avanti!

Connect/reconnect w/your professor and ask him directly about the idea. It could definitely be done -- look at the Aeriks (although not a financial success). Also, don't worry about the composites part (unless you mean about the strength of materials, which would then be a concern for a new design).

All considered, a LOT of work. Good luck!

Jon Matcho :busy:
Builder & Canard Zone Admin
Now:  Rebuilding Quickie Tri-Q200 N479E
Next:  Resume building a Cozy Mark IV