Winglet airfoil?

jpolenek

I'm new to the canard pusher world and intend to order Cozy4 plans in the next month or two. In the meantime, I'm learning about the design by going over the Open-EZ drawings.

Looking at this design, it appears that the winglets have an airfoil shape that produces lift in the inboard direction. I assume this is common to the Cozy4 and similar designs.

Why would the winglet be designed to produce lift inboard? Doesn't this create unnecessary stresses where the wing meets the winglet, as well as additional induced drag when compared to a symmetrical shape? Is there some aerodynamic purpose/advantage with the airfoil?

Joe

Joe

Cozy Mk IV #1550

I understand the winglets are (or are similar to) Whitcomb winglets and they actually provide some thrust. There's a summary of some of the information here: http://www.cozybuilders.org/Oshkosh_Presentations/Nats_OSH2005_Presentation.pdf

I wonder why they're canted inward a couple degrees instead of outward, but not thinking to change anything about them...

Jon Matcho :busy:
Builder & Canard Zone Admin
Now:  Rebuilding Quickie Tri-Q200 N479E
Next:  Resume building a Cozy Mark IV

My understanding is that because they are cambered inward, the low pressure zone above the wing meets the low pressure zone inboard of the winglet, reducing the vortex of the tip. I think in aerodynamacistsssssisisisis talk they increase span efficiency or some jargon like that.

Also on the bottom they are cambered out so that the high pressure zone inboard of them meets the high pressure zone under the wing, for the same reason.

I am pretty sure that is why they have a cambered airfoil rather than a more usual symetrical airfoil for stabiliser surfaces.

All up I just consider them Burt Magic, thats aeronautical black magic.

Adrian Smart

Cozy IV #1453