Contemplating major engine modification to Velocity

vayoodev

Dear fellow Canardians!

I'm very green to the aviation world, I don't have a PPL or a plane. It was my life long dream to be a pilot (which boy doesn't) and now it seems I'm on my way. I plan to get my PPL in 3 years and build myself a plane in 5 (hopefully). I have done some research and based on agility, speed, comfort, safety (canards after all have the best stall characteristics) and endurance, I have decided on a Velocity SE-RG or XL-RG.

What I want to do is use two Centurion 1.7, 135 hp jet fuel engines in pusher format. I want to install these balanced on the two sides of the canard equally spaced about the centerline of the fuselage. I want to use the space where the engine presently sits for fuel tanks and avoid the Jeffco and the strakes fuel tank mess.

Becuase cost is a factor, can I buy plans instead of a kit for the XL-RG?

Now as I said, I am a novice if there ever was one, but I do have a dream. I would like to ask the experienced people on this forum to bring to bear their considerable experince and tell me if it is at all feasible (I don't want to spend the next 10 years experimenting with this either). Any posting about this would be very much appreciated.

A guy (nam withheld cos I don't know if he wants to be listed) tried twin pushers on a LongEZ but I am pretty sure he decided it didn't work well and changed back to a single pusher.

As for fuel where the engine goes, too far from the CG and that will change drastically with different fuel loads.

The Velocity can only be built from a kit, so that cans that idea as well.

Have a look at my idea for a push-pull Cozy. It would suit two centurions perfectly. http://www.canardzone.com/forum/showthread.php?t=1735

Only a doodle and not a lot of thought put into it but I am sure it could be worked out and built from plans (as all Cozys are).

Adrian Smart

Cozy IV #1453