Large Flyer

aerialsasquatch

Hey everyone!

I'm a leggy, broad of shoulder 6'9", 280-300 pound student pilot an am starting down the rabbit hole of experimentals/home-builds as an alternative to spending $200k+ on a relatively outfitted plane where I fit.

For reference, I am doing my training lessons in a C182Q, which is surprisingly comfortable, but I am wholly unable to fit/operate within a C172.

My instructor mentioned EZ Longs when discussing experimentals / my goals, as I would like to have ability to fly regularly for both work and pleasure generally within a range of NC - Central Florida, with occasional flights further abound.

Obviously, as I think everyone probably is, the EZ Long seems incredibly attractive for a multitude of reasons, and given the relative diversity in home builds, I'd really like to learn more about potential differences that may accommodate someone my size. I am new to this exploration, so am just looking for resources, as well as any specific modifications (or even specific crafts) that folks here might know of that may reach that goal.

I've seen mention of modified panels to give more knee room above the rudder slots, moving the rudders further forward, as well as larger canopies to accommodate more head room, but my primary concern from my viewing of different folks sitting in-cockpit is the shoulder space, specifically at the top of the fuselage where the canopy rests.

Happy to be here and absorb as much knowledge as I can, excited to hang around and learn a thing or two!

I've heard of a few builders building the fuselage a couple inches wider, while leaving everything else (wingspan, etc) the same.  There's a bunch of extra work involved, since you have to figure out how the center section spar, upper longerons, aluminum extrusions, and engine mount interface with each other, but it's been done.