Long-EZ flying characteristics?

FordCrusherGT

Greetings all,

I'm a relatively new pilot, got my PPL about 5 weeks ago at 45 hours and now have a bit over 70. I've got a rather broad range of experience for a limited number of hours, ranging from the 172 I took my check ride in to a Navajo, including time in a Comanche 180, Mooney M20F, and some others. I'm starting my instrument rating next week. People tend to have positive things to say about my flying, and generally comment that I am well ahead of where most are given my number of hours.

I am looking into planes to buy and have thought about potentially trying to pick up a Long-EZ that someone else has built. I am attracted to the high speed with low fuel burn, and for most of my missions it would be plenty acceptable since all I need to carry is myself and a few small bags. I am looking for an IFR plane that I can take on long trips (like from PA to CA, for example). I'd be looking to buy one that someone else has built, as I do not have the time to build a plane myself. I have a few questions.

1) I'm 6'2" 155 lbs (very thin). Am I too big?

2) How easy or difficult is this plane to fly? I have time flying at 170 kts, but all in certified aircraft that are relatively docile. Is the Long-EZ a real handful, and difficult to fly, or something that may have a few quirks but can generally be learned to handle well?

3) Anything else in general I should know?

Thanks for your help!

-Ted

Just to add to Waiters already very nice words on the subject...

Military pilots transitioning to Longez IFR will find no problems. Civ spam can drivers tranitioning to Longez IFR will be more challenged at first due to the Longez not being as "stable" as a IFR platform as a spamcan. But---just as anything else, you will get used to it.

I see the emphasis "do not allowing the canard to go above the horizon". Is this solely to prevent a prop strike, or is there some aerodynamic reason for that mantra?