Long EZ size?

kapelrud

I'm 6' 5" tall; would I fit into the cockpit of a standard Long EZ?

My back has a somewhat "normal" length, but my legs are pretty long. Is it possible to modify the Long EZ so that my legs can get enough room, if standard plans gives to little leg space? (Like a Berkut-sized nose or similar?)

(My first post to this forum. I'm only 19 years old, and I'm currently studying physics at a university (NTNU) in Trondheim, Norway. So I can't afford to start a building project as of today, but I would very much like to do it in the future; in about 6-7 years or so :sad::rolleyes: )

Shouldn't be a problem. Normally you don't fly an EZ with your feet on the rudders, they are actually in front of the rudders.

I am light 160 - 170 lbs ( So when I build mine, I actually moved the pilots seat forward 2 inches. (CG issue)

I'm 6 foot tall, and with the pilots seat forward 2 inches, I still have no problems with the rudder pedals.

I have my rudder peddls adjusted so that its actually starts getting uncomfortable if I leave my feet on the rudders to long (30 - 45 minutes)

There are taylor made adjustments to make the airplane fit the pilot. Most EZs (if not all) should be capable of reconfiguring the rudder pedals and brakes for long or short legged people. Its not an adjustment you can make before every flight, because it may require reconfiguring cables and brackets, with nuts and bolts.

Good Luck

Waiter

F16 performance on a Piper Cub budget

LongEZ, 160hp, MT CS Prop, Downdraft cooling, Full retract

visit: www.iflyez.com

Baggage, NO, ballast Maybe. (you may not have room for 5 lbs of baggage, but you can always find room for a 5 lb sheet of lead)

I tood extra care to put everything as far forward as I could. Brake master cylinders, Strobe Power Supply, Battery forward of F22 instead on on F22. The battery was a high density Recombinant Gas that weighed 24 lbs.