Aluminium Wings for the Verieze

Squish

Hi all,

I'm new at this so please be pateint with me. I aquired a VEZ not to long ago and to my dismay I found corrosion in 2 of the spar plates. I was wondering would it be easier to fab aluminium wings instead of going through a 1980 built VEZ? Could use some (a lot) of help. 

Thanks 

Squish

Aluminum wings?

Wow. Are you willing to take on the task of designing a new airplane from scratch?

New spar? New winglets? New spar attach? New controls? Maybe new fuselage? Basically, a new airplane?

That's what you'd be in for, I believe. Sure, it's possible ....

BTW, aluminum spars have been known to corrode as well.

Your best bet might be to seek advice on replacing the spar plates.

Mark Z offers excellent, professional advice.

Thanks for the advice. I don't think I'll go that route of designing an aluminium wing. I'm just a bit shy at glass work. 

Once you get over the hump you'll look back and wonder why you were so shy.  You can buy a composites practice kit from Wicks or Aircraft Spruce, attend a composites workshop from EAA, or best yet, find someone and participate a bit in their building sessions.

Jon Matcho :busy:
Builder & Canard Zone Admin
Now:  Rebuilding Quickie Tri-Q200 N479E
Next:  Resume building a Cozy Mark IV

You might get with the EAA Chapter in Spokane and find out who is building or has built a Rutan design. http://www.eaa79.org      It would be good to get some instruction from Rutan builders than a generic fiberglass shop and they will lead you to more information.  Rutan's moldless construction is simple but rather specialized for his aircraft.