Hello from the Pacific Northwest

Hi everyone!

I'm new around here and have been trolling a bit for a week or so and am getting more and more interested in canard aircraft. I have been dreaming about building a kit aircraft for many years and recently stumbled upon these beautiful, versatile, unique pieces of work around here.

It may be a couple of years before I can get started on something, but right now I'm sort of honing in on the Cozy IV. I like it's performance, number of seats, and possible construction price. I am open to persuasion though.

If anyone knows of people building or owning a project in my area (Spokane, WA) I would love to be able to take a look their work and maybe take some inspiration from them. Don't worry, I'll try not to take too much away :D.

I've also been sort of curious about the advantages/disadvantages of canard vs. the more conventional style of aircraft. I've found a little out there, but we all have our biases. I'm working on my bias toward the canard as I type.

Sorry for the long introduction, just trying to inspire a little conversation and start my education. From what I've seen I have a lot to learn from everyone here.

So hello and have a great evening everyone.

Clark

Welcome!

In my opinion, the most important thing to do before buying a plane or building a plane is to define your MISSION. What do you need the plane to do? How many people, how much baggage, how far, how fast, off-field or grass runways, short runways, long paved runways, cost of ownership, fuel efficiency, etc.etc.

Once you have answers to those questions, find a plane that best fits your mission. All planes are compromises - none do everything perfectly.

We owned a Beech Musketeer, and it was very roomy, comfortable, carried a lot, held lots of fuel, could fly off grass, etc. But it was not very fast, parts were expensive and sometimes hard to find, and I spent a LOT of money keeping it inspected and flying.