Wheel Pant Fix

daveb

A new set of pants need a little work. The two halves require some pushing and shoving to get them togther as the lip on the rear halves don’t quite match the front halves. Once togther, there are significant gaps in the join which are nowhere near straight.

One method might be to get the front half square, muscles them togther and fill in the gaps on the back half with flox (or micro) with a release agent on the front side. Once the cut-out for the wheel is made it would be easier to flex the two halves together, maybe?

Another method might be to grind out the lip on the back halves get the two surfaces square and build in a new lip although how you’d lay it up on the inside I’m not sure.

I’m new to this, any input would be appreciated.

post-1364-141090167999_thumb.jpg

post-1364-141090168003_thumb.jpg

post-1364-141090168006_thumb.jpg

post-1364-141090168009_thumb.jpg

post-1364-141090168015_thumb.jpg

Dave

VH-JZE

Can't see "which" wheelpants they are, but I had similar with my "james" pants.

Once the tyre cutout was made it all went somewhat easier ... that said, they are still not fitted...

There is some very valuable advise available. I'll look for the links :)

regards

cvh

I live in my own little world! but its OK, they know me here!

Chris Van Hoof, Johannesburg, South Africa operate from FASY (Baragwanath)

Cozy Mk IV, ZU-CZZ, IO-360 (200hp) 70x80 prop

Sand the flange square first, then treat the cosmetics on the joggle. The flange is on the front half of the wheel pant. The joggle is aft. See my finishing page for how to treat flanges and joggles.

My suggestion would be the square the flange first, complete the entire wheel pant installation, then addess the consmetics. You'll have more cosmetic work to do than just the cosmetics on the joggle.

Wayne Hicks

Cozy IV Plans #678

http://www.ez.org/pages/waynehicks