Long-Ez repair

Good day,

I am looking at buying a long EZ, I did an inspection on an aircraft I am interested in, and found a crack on the right hand side of the area where the nose gear retracts. The crack is at the junction of the belly skin and gear recess.

I am an aircraft maintenance engineer and I do have some experience with composites. I do know how to repair them but in this case, since I am unfamiliar with ez-poxy, (which from my understanding is no longer being produced) I would like to know if there is a compatibility problem when using another epoxy for the repair. Which epoxy is recommended?

Also, any ideas as to why this damage would have occured? the current owners doesn't seem to have any idea.

Thanks for the help..

post-28583-141090167927_thumb.jpg

post-28583-141090167932_thumb.jpg

Good day,

I am looking at buying a long EZ, I did an inspection on an aircraft I am interested in, and found a crack on the right hand side of the area where the nose gear retracts. The crack is at the junction of the belly skin and gear recess.

I am an aircraft maintenance engineer and I do have some experience with composites. I do know how to repair them but in this case, since I am unfamiliar with ez-poxy, (which from my understanding is no longer being produced) I would like to know if there is a compatibility problem when using another epoxy for the repair. Which epoxy is recommended?

Also, any ideas as to why this damage would have occured? the current owners doesn't seem to have any idea.

Thanks for the help..

first, ez poxy is still being produced http://www.aircraftspruce.com/catalog/cmpages/ezpoxy.php

for that repair you could use almost any epoxy, as they only hold on the nose gear box, not structural. these cracks a common because the layups in that area are thin. has the aircraft ever had a nose gear up landing that the owner has forgotten about?

Evolultion Eze RG -a two place side by side-200 Knots on 200 HP. A&P / pilot for over 30 years