Hi from South Africa

I'm a Velocity builder

The plane is registered for aproval flying ZU-DZU

I'm using a TIO 360 C1A6D reason takeoff at 5500ft and I got it for a good price.

Others talking about swinging a cat in the engine cowling in my one you can let a mouse go and she will go nowere.

Testflying is most of the time short reason engine is getting hot. I hav added 2 additional oil coolers one inside the cowling with electric fans to keep things cool on the ground and an additional one on the bottom of the cowling in the airflow which should take away the heat generated by the turbo and the engine parallell to the one in the nose which I see as a cabin heater.

CG is out and flying alone requires 15Kg led in the nose.

Lately the test pilos refused to go with it when the turbo is in it so I removed it now the engine is so slug I'm worried we probably need the entire 1.8 km runway and a bit more to get airborne.

Any body els out there who tried a TIO

Don't fly that engine with out the turbo. It needs 40 inches of manifold pressure to make 210 HP. That engine has a 7.3 to 1 compression ratio. The normally aspirated IO360 has a 8.7 to 1 compression ratio. With out the turbo that engine likely is making 160 to 170 HP at sea level. At 5000 feet msl it is likely making 130 to 140 hp. I have worked on this engine in the Aero Commander 112TC, it needs lots of air thru large oil cooler to control the oil temperature.

That was some good advice!

What would have to be changed to bring that motor up to, say 180 Hp, bar the pistons?

I live in my own little world! but its OK, they know me here!

Chris Van Hoof, Johannesburg, South Africa operate from FASY (Baragwanath)

Cozy Mk IV, ZU-CZZ, IO-360 (200hp) 70x80 prop

It looks to me that you are the guy to talk to.

Which options do I have? and what would you suggest?