Getting some flight time on LEZ or Cozy

Hello, I'm new to the zone and basically will be building my first AC. I would like to start to accumulate some hours on either LEZ or Cozy and I was wondering how I'd go about it (contacts, CFI's). I'm about an hour from CNO and minutes from SNA or LGB.

Thanks.

Generally, you'll be able to find a Canard driver that will be willing to help you transition to Canards, although this assistance is usually granted once your airplane is ready to fly (or at least very close). I don't know of any place to go and rent a Canard for flight instruction (and we can't rent out your experimental aircraft anyway).

Many Canard builders are able to get a "joy" ride in a Canard, even prebuilders often get to try it out for a brief experience. But as far as accumulating some hours, you may need to look for an inexpensive older EZ and purchase it for your flying hours.

This reminds me when I was 20 and went to look at the Brand New 1993 Mazda RX-7 Twin Turbo ($35k at the time). The dealer had told me that they didn't usually do test drives with the new RX-7.... buyers NEW they wanted the car, and usually committed to it before driving it or even sitting in it. Thats what building a Canard is often like... we're often very committed before trying it out.

Andrew Anunson

I work underground and I play in the sky... no problem

A friend of mine recommended to get checked out on a tail dragger since the landing profile will be about the same as a Cozy. Any one have any experience on this?

I hate to spend few years building the thing only to blow it on first flight because I only have an hour on this type of A/C.

You're not gonna believe this, but a guy on a Canard email list posted yesterday that if anyone wanted some stick time in his eracer, to email him. I'll get you his email as soon as he OK's me cross posting his information. Talk about coincidence!!

Andrew Anunson

I work underground and I play in the sky... no problem