Nose Gear Screwup - Please advise

rnbraud

I would appreciate some advice.

I am working on the nose and while waiting for parts, I got a lil impatient and built and installed the NG-30's

before receiving my MKNG-6A.

The NG-30s are installed, the nose bottom is installed, the nose sides are installed, and the inside layups are complete.

Now, to my major disappointmnet, the MKNG-6A bolt won't go through the hole in the NG-30's.

Hmmm, so I re-read Chap 13 for the n'th time, and dammit,there it is on page 5, the end of the first paragraph:

After cure, open up the holes for the MKNG-6 to 5/16" I.D.

Dohhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh! My MKNG-6 hole is still 1/4".

So, I look inside and I can't see anyway to fit a drill and 5/16" drill bit in there.

I have a 90 degree attachment for both my drill and dremel.

For the Drill once you add the drill bit I won't be able to get it in there.

For the Dremel, it might fit, but they don't make 5/16" drill bits.

So, here are my options:

1) Cut the drill bit down to a knub, and see if it will fit with the 90 degree attachment.

2) Use the Dremel 90 degree attachment with a 5/16" cylinder HSS cutter. Followed up with a 5/16" grinding stone for clearance.

Any other ideas you guys might have??

I would appreciate some advice.

I am working on the nose and while waiting for parts, I got a lil impatient and built and installed the NG-30's

before receiving my MKNG-6A.

The NG-30s are installed, the nose bottom is installed, the nose sides are installed, and the inside layups are complete.

Now, to my major disappointmnet, the MKNG-6A bolt won't go through the hole in the NG-30's.

Hmmm, so I re-read Chap 13 for the n'th time, and dammit,there it is on page 5, the end of the first paragraph:

After cure, open up the holes for the MKNG-6 to 5/16" I.D.

Dohhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh! My MKNG-6 hole is still 1/4".

So, I look inside and I can't see anyway to fit a drill and 5/16" drill bit in there.