Australian Suppliers

AP3_C

:confused: Just wondering if any of the Australian Canard builders could make some suggestions on where to buy things like Epoxy, Fibreglass, foam and various other building materials in Australia or do you have to order them in from USA?

Jamie.

"An upsidedown Australian that wants to build an aircraft that flys backwards"

• 2 months later...

Hi Ya Jamie

I work in the composite industry in Adelaide for Bolly Props (ultralight props), Im using this forum to learn more about what materials are used and how to use them, but you should be able to get all the popular epoxies and foams from Australia maybe even in SA, if you know what your looking for just let your fingers do the walking.

If your looking for a certain brand and spec resin and can't find it let me know and I will check with my supplier.

regards Craig

Craig,

Thanks for the reply.

I know of your props, I use and have used them on my slightly smaller projects. R/C aeroplanes.

At the moment I am looking at using West Systems 105 Resign and 209 Hardener. Mainly because of their pumps that fit to the bottles and I have used the same stuff but the 205 hardener for my composite R/C gliders and have had a lot of success with it. (stick to what I am used to I guess.)

I have found that the cheapest way of getting the supplies is to order in one go from the states, but this requires a large initial some of money to be out laid. I am slowly working at finding suppliers here in OZ, mainly because I don't have the funds available at the moment to do a big order but can find the dollars to do small orders. At least that way I can get started. But will be more costly in the long run.

SPODMAN is another Aussie on the forum and has been very helpful in finding Australian suppliers for bits.