Hand Layup vs. Spray

I have a friend who owns a large fiberglass manufacturing business. He and his crew are willing to assist me with my MKIV project (off the clock.. on weekends), but we have a question...

Does the entire Cozy MKIV HAVE to be built by hand layup, or can some/all of it be made by commercially spraying the fiberglass over the molds.

Fogive me if I'm not up to speed on the proper lingo. I'm JUST getting started.

Also, if anyone has jigs they're willing to sell/loan, I'd sure like to hear from you!

Thanks in advance for your help!

Best regards,

Adam

Montana

The cozy construction technieques are integral to the design. Departing from them would dramaticly alter the plane in ways that would be very difficult if not impossible to evaluate. The construction techniques are specifically designed for a person to be able to build in his or her garage. Not being an Aeronautical engineer, or a material scientist I am unwilling to make anything but the most trivial changes to the plane or construction technieques. Check out the plastic peel ply conversations on this site. This is about as close to a mold as I think you want to get. Besides how would you get the molds... I guess you could take them from a flying cozy.

Does the entire Cozy MKIV HAVE to be built by hand layup, or can some/all of it be made by commercially spraying the fiberglass over the molds.

You might indeed be able to use this spraying technique for non-structural parts, such as the nose cone and engine cowling. However, your resulting structural parts will be dramatically different in strength and composition than those produced by the Rutan techniques.

You could try to prove this wrong (or right) by building a canard (chapter 10), and repeating this test, which measures the point at which your canard fails catastrophically. But don't bother...