Fuel system stuff

dust

OK how about a fuel flow sensor in back of the rear seat back support, shorter wire need or does it need to go between pump (suck) and engine??

Also, as we are fuel injected, i see no need for a gascolator.

And anyone know of a double throw valve that will accept 1/2 inch OD plumbing?

maker wood dust and shavings - foam and fiberglass dust and one day a cozy will pop out, enjoying the build

i can be reached at

http://www.canardcommunity.com/

Dear Dust:

I'm no expert on firewall aft, so I've asked a few experts and a few builders with fuel injection installations that have given them lots of trouble-free hours.

Here is their concensus on the order of components in the fuel-injection system:

1. Fuel tank

2. Tank Sump

3. Fuel Valve

4. Gascolator (should be at firewall, trap any dirt before everything downstream)

5. Electric Boost Pump

6. Engine-driven mechanical pump

7. Fuel pressure transducer (Install at the available port on servo)

8. Fuel servo (The servo also has a fine screen to be inspected at annual)

9. Fuel flow transducer (could be before servo)

10. Fuel distribution spider

The field was split 50/50 on the order of 4 & 5. Some have said to reverse 4 and 5 so that the boost pump does not suck fuel from the gascolator. If the gascolator gets clogged, it could cause the boost pump to cavitate, which can cause the pump to overheat and fail within minutes if not tens of seconds.