Starter Questions - Cozy / Long-EZ

bshankle

A little about me: I'm a pilot with 400 hours in a Cessna 172 I sold a couple of years ago and I've kept current via rentals.

I met and spoke with Nat Puffer some years back at Sun-N-Fun and was "this close" to ordering Cozy plans because I was tired of how slow my 172 was.

Later, convinced by a local RV-6 owner, I opted instead for an RV-7. I bought the rudder parts and never completed a single part before losing interest in aluminum construction.

Now I'm at a point in life to be serious about building again and I'm looking seriously at the Cozy or Long-EZ (again).

Thanks in advance for reading / answering my questions. Here they are.

Materials

1. Over the long term, does fiber-glass and foam stand up to the elements? What about moisture? UV? Paint? What problems are there being seen in the field? What is there to watch out for? How do you mitigate long-term exposure issues?

2. Is there a danger of the epoxy in the cabin melting or becoming soft if you park it in the sun with the top down?

3. How to you keep the cabin cool when the plane is secured?

4. How would you know if a part has weakened or softened due to heat?

5. Would you ever buy a Long-EZ someone else built?

6. What about lightning strikes?

Design

1. Not interested in stirring up a canard vs. conventional debate, but this an honest question: Is there a conventional, 4-seat design that has the same fuel economy, speed, and range as the Cozy? If so, what is it?

2. What are some draw-backs of the canard design vs. conventional?

Engine and Prop

1. Should I go with a constant speed prop? Variable pitch? I'm thinking I want maximum thrust for take-off and good economy for cruise. Is it worth the weight?

2. How would you know if you had a fire in the engine compartment?

Operation