Building in a living space?

eagle

Hello, everybody. By way of introductions, my (yes, real) name is Eagle, and I've been obsessing about building an airplane for way too long now. I got my private pilot license about 5 years ago, and now have 110 total hours, plus a few in gliders (fun!). I'm a grad student, finishing up my PhD in computer science at UCLA.

After my second straight week of staying up until 2-3 am reading these forums and every homebuilt canard page I could find, I think it's time to actually consider doing this. I see the people who say, "the only thing to do is start building sooner, no matter what", and I -do- have some really good excuses: I am a poor grad student. I live in the middle of LA, in a studio apartment.

I then read of Bulent, who started building in his apartment. I then look around my apartment and say, "Hmm... If I don't watch TV anymore, then that's more time for building... And I won't need that couch any more." So I could maybe clear out my living space. This space is 11'x9'. There's a half-wall between that space and my bedroom area. This wall is exactly 35" high. If I built the workbench a couple feet into the bedroom area, I could actually have an 11-12' bench and still be able to get around it on the other end.

Questions:

1, and super-important: Is is a really bad idea to sleep in the same room as your curing epoxy? I can't find the MSDS for MGS anywhere on the web, but I can't imagine it would be good for you. On the other hand, it seems like most people are around the project when the fumes are there, and when there aren't fumes and dust, it's because they're not there and not creating said fumes and dust... So I shouldn't have too much more exposure than anybody else, right? The main thing I'm worried about is overnight cures and such. I'm not willing to risk my health for this.