Bose noise reduction earphones

Jack Kretmar

This thread may be a little off the subject of aircraft. In reading Marc Zeitlin's work profile, I see that he worked on a noise reduction project for the Bose corporation. Is this those new noise reduction earphones we hear about. If so, that's interesting because they would be great for the Cozy (even though they are very pricy). Is this the case, Marc? I'm no engineer, but I suspect they work by "reading" the noise signal and then instantly generating a reverse amplitude "mirror" signal to cancel out the noise. Do I have that right?

Jack Kretmar

Originally posted by Jack Kretmar

Is this those new noise reduction earphones we hear about. If so, that's interesting because they would be great for the Cozy (even though they are very pricy). Is this the case, Marc?

Yes. When I was at Bose, I worked on the Bose X noise canceling headsets for pilots, as well as the first generation of noise canceling headsets for the mass market (they're now selling 2nd generation mass market headsets). Noise reduction headsets (called ANR, for "Active Noise Reduction") have been around since Bose invented them about 18 years ago, but only recently (5-10 years) has the price on many of them come down far enough for them to become very popular.

I have a pair of Bose ANR headsets, a pair of Lightspeed ANR headsets, and a couple of Peltor passive headsets. The Bose and Lightspeed are great - I won't wear passive headsets anymore - the Peltors are only used for the rare times there are people in the rear seats. The Bose X were the best headsets when they came out in 1999 - I don't know if that's still the case, but they're certainly still the most expensive :-). They are VERY good in the COZY - any ANR headset is better in any plane than any passive headset.

I'm no engineer, but I suspect they work by "reading" the noise signal and then instantly generating a reverse amplitude "mirror" signal to cancel out the noise. Do I have that right?