Canards to Canarda?

TiggerMoth

Greetings gentlemen and gentlewomen,

I'm quite new here, and apologize if this is a repeat on account of my archive searching skills being less than they should.

I've decided on a LongEZ for my first and, hopefully, only plane -- once I complete my training...this summer (?)

Expecting pickins is slimmer in Canada than the US, I wonder if anyone has brought one in (from the US), and could you point me in the right direction so I may inform myself of all I will need to know about so doing?

Thanks in advance,

Brent

Hey Brent -

I'm a Cozy IV builder in Edmonton, but I have recently begun an active search for a Long-EZ to fly while I complete my project.

For sure I would contact David Orr at www.canardfinder.com. He runs a brokerage service for canards, and is an experienced EZ driver with a wealth of knowledge and advice. At any given moment he probably knows of 30-40 planes that are on the market and has personal knowledge of many of them. Most of these will never be seen on barnstormers, ebay or the like.

I would also join EAA and/or RAA. They have many articles and fora that could give you advice. EAA Chapter 1410 in High River just had a seminar on this very topic - check out their website at www.eaahighriver.org.

www.ez.org has some good articles on buying (or not buying) canard planes - nothing Canda-specific, though.

Key thing is to get as much information as possible. You might try contacting other canard drivers in your area. According to the Transport Canada database, there are at least two EZ's in the Calgary vicinity.

Best of luck with your search - PM me if you want me to keep you updated with the status of mine.

Trevor

Cozy MK IV, #1171, Ch. 19

Trevor Howard

Edmonton, AB

Canada

COZY MKIV #1171

Hey Trevor,

Thanks so much for your reply here.