MKIV builders/fliers at KPAE

I'm thinking, pretty seriously, of building a MKIV. I'm a pilot and part owner of a Piper pacer, hangared in Everett Washington. I would love to sit in and better yet ride in a cozy to help sway me in on direction or another. Al Wick is a couple hours south and has offered to let me take a peek, but both my pacer and his cozy won't be in the air for a couple of months.

I'm really curious about a couple of things. 1. How I would fit. 2. How the independant rudders work.

1. How I would fit.

----> Height, weight, pants size?

2. How the independant rudders work.

----> Well, you see, it works like this. You step on the rudder pedal. It pulls a cable, the cable pulls the rudder outboard. Just kidding. The rudder pedals work and feel like any other rudder pedals on any other plane. There are two exceptions, all good.

First, these canard planes have so little adverse yaw. You can turn the plane without using the rudder pedals. Once I'm out of the traffic pattern, I take my feet off the pedals and don't use the rudders again until I re-enter the traffic pattern for landing.

Second, you might be wondering about what it's like to push the rudder pedals the first inch and a half to engage the rudders, then pushing more to engage the brakes. Don't worry about that. The feel for where the brake engage point is becomes second nature after the very first landing. On conventional pedals, I always had to take my feet off the rudder portion of the pedals, then lift them to place my toes on the brake portion of the pedals. You don't do that on canard pedals. You don't have to reposition your foot at all. All you do is push more to engage the brakes. I really love the simplicity of the canard pedals. Personally, I'd never switch back.

Wayne Hicks

Cozy IV Plans #678

http://www.ez.org/pages/waynehicks

To second what Wayne says---there could not be a more simpler method of integrating rudders and brakes. The "conventional" way is much harder.