Electric noselift and NG-30 hard points

Phil Kriley

I have Jack Wilhelmson's noselift kit, and it's pretty neat but would be so much better if a drawing of NG-51 existed either in his plans or in the Cozy plans. This is needed so that you know where to put the hardpoints and are not making unneeded hardpoints as well. I'm hoping I got mine close enough that I will not have to cut up my NG-30's to make new hardpoints...

On the subject of the hard points - they end up being "cup shaped" because the 15 layers of BID do not completely fill up the holes. This is even evident in the drawings in the plans.

So my question is - do you fill them up with flox? As it is, the washers called out in the plans bridge the hardpoints, leaving a hollow area under them - that doesn't seem right, but I'm no engineer...just a poor guy trying his best to follow the plans...

Any guidance would be appreciated! TIA!

Phil Kriley

Cozy #1460

Chapter 13 - nose

Right wing done - working on right winglet.

The depression should not be a problem. The plans imply that the 15 BID layers and the 4 ply outside skin are all done together and weighted for cure. I suppose the drawing is just reflecting that the weight will compress them a little and leave a depression. Might even help to prevent the hard points from moving under load.

-Kent
Cozy IV N13AM-750 hrs, Long-EZ-85 hrs and sold

The depression should not be a problem. The plans imply that the 15 BID layers and the 4 ply outside skin are all done together and weighted for cure. I suppose the drawing is just reflecting that the weight will compress them a little and leave a depression. Might even help to prevent the hard points from moving under load.

I did the layup as stated in the plans, and weighting the layup for cure did not even touch the center of the hardpoints. They simply do not fill up the hole, and so my hardpoints are like little "dishes" - just like the drawing in the plans.