Web-Slinger LIVES!!!!

On October 3rd, 2009, (10 years and twenty three days after completing the first bulkheads), N85TT ( aka: “Web-Slinger” ) took to the sky for it’s maiden flight from Tampa Executive Airport (VDF).

It was a dead calm clear morning. Vance Atkinson was at the controls. I asked him to perform the evaluation flight, as I’m a low-time pilot, and felt it would be prudent to have an experienced pilot fly it first. They don’t come much more experienced than Vance. I was considering performing First Flight myself, but on the advice of a good friend, and objectively reviewing my qualifications, I was able to tuck my ego in my pocket and take the conservative course. Vance taxied out to the active runway, made a high-speed pass and lifted the nose to see if it felt right, gave us a “thumbs-up”, then did it for real. (Hole-eee-crap!!!!) It was one of the most enjoyable experience of my life, despite the “Comet Kohoutek” sized lump in my throat. I’ve never fathered a child, (that I know of... but then again, 11 years in the Navy.... buy who knows?). I think I understand a bit more about the feeling.

As it turned out, no surprises. (Thank whatever Gods which may exist.). It flew stable and as advertised. There were cooling problems above 115kts at full power (surprise!!), and a slight tendency to roll to the right (a skinny washer should fix it). But, all in all, a great first showing!