Hi, I'm ready to learn!

Hi Everyone,

My name is Len, and I'm contemplating building a Cozy or similar canard airplane. To be honest, I'm probably a bit too green to think about doing this, but I've had dreams of building a Rutan canard airplane since I first saw one in my youth. I'm a mechanical engineer working at Cornell University (and working on my Masters) in their Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering department. I build soccer-playing robots in my spare time.

Of all things that triggered and renewed my interest of late was the approval of the LSA licensing this summer. It got me thinking about making time to get a pilot's license, and revisiting my dreams. As I looked into the LSA though, I realized that it was too limited for what I need, and that the private license would be better suited to me. I also found the wonderful diversity of Rutan-based and inspired canards that now exists.

I've been lurking around the forum and I've visited many vendor and builder sites. Now I find myself with more questions than answers, and more drive than I ever had to build my own plane.

I guess first of all, since I am not a pilot yet, and most likely the planes that are available to train on are not canard designs, am I crazy to want to build one of these? How in the world could I insure it? What if I deviate from Nat's plans (I'm a big guy and want a little room)?

I'm not worried about working with composites, as I've worked on fiberglass boats for years, but what about using stronger and lighter layups with carbon fiber instead of fiberglass? Can the plans be scaled slightly (e.g. a 5-10% scale-up in linear dimensions)?

I'm ready to learn, and welcome whatever advice I can get.

-- Len

-- Len Evansic, Cozy Mk. IV Plans #1283

Do you need a Flightline Chair, or other embroidered aviation accessory?

Len, welcome! It takes a while, but the whole world will end up building a canard sooner or later... :)

...am I crazy to want to build one of these?