Introduction

Just a quick note of introduction. Whilst not a pilot I am interested in flying and even more so in the homebuilt aircraft building process. (Yes I am an engineer both a work and in many of my personal pursuits!)

Recently I have begun investigating the homebuilt options and my thoughts seem to be converging on a 4/5 seat canard configuration, the most popular of which seem to be the Velocity line of kits and the Cozy MkIV. (I did briefly "flirt" with the idea of a Rutan Defiant until I found out that even with 2 engines it cruises slower than the Cozy so, as promising as I thought that option might be, it was summarily rejected.) Being at best a "newbie" I have many questions and am hoping that this forum can be of assistance in both the research, airframe selection, options/modifications evaluation and building processes.

Questions will be forthcoming but any general comments on the relative merits of a Cozy versus the Velocity XL line would be much appreciated.

Thanks and Cheers

Good Flying

Carl

I have an SQ2000, similar to Velocity and I really appreciate the gull wing doors so you don't have to climb up like in a Cozy or EZ. And the Velocity XL will have bigger payload amd more pilot/passenger - for Cozy IV it is about 410lb and its "cozy". Of course you will probably find the Velocity more expensive to build and somewhat more thirsty. There's a CAFE flight report for Cozy IV at:

http://members.eaa.org/home/flight_reports/cozy_markiv.html

-----------------------------------------------------

Paul Lee, SQ2000 canard: http://www.abri.com/sq2000

Carl, we have similar backgrounds and interests. I was first looking at a Velocity, but decided on a Cozy based on price and performance. The small Velocity aircraft are similar in size and performance to a Cozy, but I believe the trend has been for them to become quite large, especially with the XL and XL-5 models.