Turbo toast.

I have been reading on turboes extensively and the most common problem is lack of coolant flow. Did you run the engine with the oil feed line detached and verify the quantity for a minuit? I have a book at the office that tells the amount needed for proper cooling.

Is the oil return above the level of oil, if it is not then you have two choices, pump up from turbo or move the return line.

enjoy the fiddling

dust

maker wood dust and shavings - foam and fiberglass dust and one day a cozy will pop out, enjoying the build

i can be reached at

http://www.canardcommunity.com/

After reading your experience a couple of questions came to mind.

First, how good is the stock Mazda turbo? Would some of the high priced turbos from somebody like Turbonetics be worth the extra money if they were more reliable? I'm not an expert, but is seems to me that a turbine that spins at 100,000 RPM is the last thing you would want welded, but maybe all turbos are made this way.

Second, would it make sense to separate the turbo oil and coolant supplies from the critical engine systems. Similar to how some people are thinking of separating the cabin heat water/oil circuits? While an hour should be plenty of time to find an airport there may be circumstances where a failure will cause a larger leak giving you much less time.

Rui Lopes

Cozy MkIV S/N: 1121

Good points, Rui.

I'm told that the stock '91 Mazda turbo is very durable. There's a Swiss company ( Myriad or something) using it on their firewall forward package.

I think the compressor wheels are welded to the shaft by some special electronic process on all turbos. I looked at a turbonetics unit on the web today - $2300 +. Rebuild cost on my unit is about $600, so I think I'll either get a replacement stock unit or have mine rebuilt.

Seperating the oil & coolant supplies would make sense if this were a common problem, which I'm hoping it's not.