Forum existence Meta Discussion

Marc Zeitlin

So I've been monitoring this CCF for a few months now, first as a visitor and for the last month or two as a member. This is my first post. What I'm looking for is feedback regarding the relative appeal of this forum vs. the canard_aviators and COZY mailing lists.

I guess mostly what I'm looking for is an understanding of what advantages this forum has over the two mailing lists - other than the emoticons, I'm having a difficult time seeing any advantage whatsoever.

What I DO see, though, is a lot of repeat discussions (from a historical standpoint - witness the paint color one) in which incorrect information is disseminated and not corrected. I see many newbies asking questions about anti-ice systems, pressurization, and turbines. These questions are valid ones to ask, but the depth of knowledge vis-a-vis responses to them just doesn't seem to be available on this forum (or else those who CAN respond knowledgeably don't seem to do so, possibly because responding on THREE fora is a lot more work than responding on one, or even two).

I'm not trying to disparage this forum or it's methodology - if there ARE major advantages, then maybe the members of the other two fora should be migrated (slowly or quickly) over to this forum. If, however, there AREN'T major advantages, then it would seem to me that it would better serve the members of this forum, especially the non-builder newbies, to join one or both of the other fora instead.

So, what do people find are the advantage (or disadvantages) of this forum vs. a traditional mailing list? Why are people interested in being on two or even three discussion fora that have 80-90% topic overlap?

Thanks for any insight.