Long EZ Mock up Panel

SULLY_H60

Let me first start off with the cave I have been in for the last 6 months. I moved to D.C. in November and received many warm replies to my question about D.C. area flyers and I am now ready to start networking and taking you guys up on all the gracious offers for rides and to check out your projects. I went to the Army fixed wing course last summer after not having touched an airplane since 1989. I am a very solid helo pilot after 14 years in various models of the H-60 but the 20 hours in a C-182 and then the complexities of the C-12 (super King Air) were fun and challenging. After getting posted to Fort Belvoir in Virginia I basically immersed myself in the King Air to get up as a Pilot in Command as quickly as possible. These are not your average King Airs as the military equips them on par with a heavy in the avionics side (Duel Collins FMS3000, all glass, nice Color WX Radar, TCASII, AP and the list goes on. I got signed off as a PIC in April and after much National and some International flying I can now refocus on the EZ. So I will be in touch guys! And thanks for the patience.

On to the panel! I came across a smoking deal on a BM EFIS ONE GEN3 recently checked and certified okay by BMA and picked it up for a song ($1800):). I was not sure if I could squeeze into a long ez but got it anyway. My predicament was making the bird fully IFR capable (minus ice:yikes:) so I could punch up through the decks to get me home. I decided to build a mock-up out of wood (1/4" ply) and see if my goodies would fit with the EFIS1 and a standby 4 pack to get a let-down if the glass poops in the soup! Here is what I set up: