Can she be salvaged?

Cunni5ac

Hi Everyone,

I am a pilot looking to build my own aircraft but have no experience doing so. I came across a listing today for an VariEze that a guy is trying to get rid of. Not sure if it was ever completed but the pictures will show the status now.

90 % complete with all Ailerons , gauge panel, engine cowls, canopy, disc brakes, most all the rigging has been done

Wanted to know if there is potential here (whether salvaging parts or restoring) or if I am out of my mind for even considering it.

Thanks in advance.

Charles

post-169331-0-52250400-1529636673_thumb.jpg

post-169331-0-04221400-1529636689_thumb.jpg

post-169331-0-88897000-1529636704_thumb.jpg

post-169331-0-61952800-1529636715_thumb.jpg

post-169331-0-78369100-1529636725_thumb.jpg

post-169331-0-64798200-1529636739_thumb.jpg

post-169331-0-19049100-1529636748_thumb.jpg

post-169331-0-57597100-1529636761_thumb.jpg

I came across a listing today for an VariEze that a guy is trying to get rid of. Not sure if it was ever completed but the pictures will show the status now.

A beat up Varieze, with deteriorated fiberglass/epoxy both inside and out, and no records of the build or who the builder is/was.

90 % complete...

and 60% to go. No engine, no systems, unknown wing attach fitting status (look up Varieze Wing Attach Fitting issues).

Wanted to know if there is potential here (whether salvaging parts or restoring) or if I am out of my mind for even considering it.

Anything can be done/repaired/fixed/completed. The question is how confident you would be in the result and whether it's worth the effort and cost. Since you don't know anything about these planes by your own admission, you are not out of your mind for considering it. If you DID know a lot about these planes, THEN I'd say you were out of your mind.