Canard Fans,
     I've decided to start documenting my build on Canard Zone until I can work out a more suitable alternative maybe a Kitlog old blog site. As an introduction my name is Sam and I live in Brisbane Australia, my daily is the Embraer 140 and I've been flying for just over 10 years now. After a lot of procrastinating and research I settled on building one of my favourite designs from one of the greatest minds around Burt Rutan. The hope is to do the design justice, I am incorporating a couple of modifications which most seem to do however it will otherwise be very much a plans build. My current memberships and subscriptions include CSA and Squadron III.

Log:

Date: 16-5-2017
Number of Hours: 2
Hours to Date: 2
Manual Reference: Chapter 4
Brief Description: Cut High density bulkheads

The start of the build! Drove out to Warwick (Around 2Hrs) today to cut out some of the fuselage bulkheads and NG30's/Nose Bulkheads for the extended Ary J nose with the bandsaw and scroll saw. My Dad has a large wood workshop which I will make use of during the build which is full of the good stuff - Tools Tools Tools! Thanks Dad :).

Date: 30-5-2017

Number of Hours: 1
Hours to Date: 3
Manual Reference: Chapter 4
Brief Description: Nose Bulkhead Layup

Today was spent on some of the easier and less structural layups to get into the swing of things. Glassed the front side of the two nose bulkheads. Resin is K3600 Araldite. Very clear and easy resin to work with, I can't say from experience but for a beginner it seemed to wet out very nicely. 

Cheers,

Sam 

post-169026-0-59878500-1496130187_thumb.jpg

post-169026-0-12315000-1496130190_thumb.jpg

post-169026-0-99136300-1496130192_thumb.jpg

post-169026-0-73877700-1496130195_thumb.jpg

• Like 1

Congratulations on starting Sam.  It's always good to post progress... you might get a worthwhile comment or two, or motivate another builder.