New guy in Arizona, gotten bitten badly by the EZ bug

Hello everyone, I'm a total newbie from Arizona. I have never built a plane, nor learned how to fly yet (in fact, I didn't find out about experimentals in general until a few months ago). I've dreamed of flying a Long EZ since I was a kid paging through a back issue of Air & Space, and ran across an article about the EZ-rocket that mentioned the LEZ. At that time I thought it was a kit airplane, and heard something about it be discontinued. So I was pretty sure I could never build one. Years later, I finally found that the Long EZ was always built from plans, and I could build one (or a derivative canard) with the right set of plans. Now I hope to actually fulfill that childhood dream and build a Rutan canard. I know I want to build some kind of plane, and while I've been drawn to other designs (such as biplanes) over the years, but I keep coming back to the EZ.

I'm not yet ready to start a big project like this, but there seems to be quite a bit to learn before building a canard. So, I see no reason not to educate myself now. I hope this is the right place to start! :)

Do a google search for "cozylinks"... you'll find links to many Cozy builder's web pages.

Search the archives here... there's a ton of great threads.

This forum here is one of many good sources of information for getting in to the EZ world.... Welcome!

Edited by Andrew Anunson
  • Like 1

Andrew Anunson

I work underground and I play in the sky... no problem

Thanks, that is an extremely useful link! I had no idea there were some many Cozy builder web pages. And thanks for the warm welcome.