Engine choices

argoldman

Without meaning to start a new war on old things----What are the general (or specific) feelings about the Franklin IO-350 (6 cyl >200 hp).

Is the American distributor still in business? Any ideas on engine mounts, exhaust systems, intake systems and props?

Based on reviewing old posts in various places, Nat deep sixed it because of weight, gave little other data, but it appears as if the performance was superior to IO360.

Coming in late for the Cozy banquet at OSH, I think that I heard a couple of people planning to use this engine.

What say Y'all???

I Canardly contain myself!

Rich

Rich :D

Rich,

I'm not an expert, but there are several flying, and some pretty recent additions, Velocity SEs with the Franklin. From listening to those guys talk it sounds like a pretty good little motor, but parts and support can be a bit sketchy to obtain (though it seems like they always get what they need). I think one of our guys is a distributor or some such and can help get bits too. If you get real serious about the Franklin mention it here and I'll dig out some more info for you.

Here are some Velocity builder list posts that might be of interest

http://www.velocityxl.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=6357&highlight=franklin

http://www.velocityxl.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=6296&highlight=franklin

http://www.velocityxl.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=6148&highlight=franklin

http://www.velocityxl.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=6137&highlight=franklin

http://www.velocityxl.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=6125&highlight=franklin

http://www.velocityxl.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=5363&highlight=franklin

Brett

---

Brett Ferrell

Velocity XL/FG

Cincinnati, OH

http://www.velocityxl.com

Brett,

Thanks for the info.

I am still agonizing over engine choices (about 1 year and countless $ away) Current choices are 1)renesis, 2 Franklin,3) lycosaur.

If you can find the name you mentioned, it would be helpful.