Bought a Varieze

AV-MECH

Fellow builders and pilots,

Just aquired a nice varieze airframe that has a little more than 440 hrs of flight time. Originally powered with an O-200, the engine did not come with the plane. Has a few small problems such as the main LG being knocked out but that happened with an amazingly small amount of damage. So I am looking for the latest and greates version of mounting the main gear in the VEZ, any leads would be helpful. I have nearly 20 years working on composite aircraft but have never spent any time with the VEZ and would like to find the best source of information for the questions that come up, hope this is the place.

I already own an IO-320 that I majored not long ago and I have found some evidence that a few have installed this powerplant, anyone have more info on that??? I would like to use it because I already own it. I am fully aware of how that may limit my useful load but I am not overly concerned with that.

I have more questions but will hold thost for later, thanks for any help you can provide.

Arnold Holmes

Lady Lake FL

Arnold Holmes

Can't help with a Vari but there have been a number of Long-EZ gear-repair articles in the Central States Newsletters that might help. Join the Central States Assn an you'll also get a national roster. Might find a Vari owner in Florida with all the back issues. Good luck - Kent

http://www.ez.org/csa/csa_info.php

-Kent
Cozy IV N13AM-750 hrs, Long-EZ-85 hrs and sold

Fellow builders and pilots,