Seatbelt Attach Hardpoints

Cozy1200

Where did you install your shoulder seatbelt attach points  

11 members have voted

1. 1. Where did you install your shoulder seatbelt attach points

• 8.6" (Current updated plans)
    • 11.5 (Orginal plans)
    • Neither.

Last night I epoxied the plywood seatbelt attach points into the shoulder support. I've since discovered that Nat updated this to the 8.5" separation from about 10". One of the concerns from reading the archive is that the narrower measurement may cause the seat belts to rub your neck. For those using the newer dimension, I'd appreciate your feedback.

Drew Chaplin (aka the Foam Whisperer)

---

www.Cozy1200.com - I'm a builder now! :cool:

---

Brace for impact...

Some people have thicker necks, and wider shoulders.

If you're one of them, consider making the pilot seat to your comfort level, but keeping the passenger seats at 8.5".

There are documents online that describe ideal aircraft harness separation levels.

Or you could make your decision based on the FAR requirements, that's what I've done.

If the 8.6 inch wide bolt location chafes you, you can also use the 2 inch wide belts which are sometimes listed as JR racing belts/harness'. They are a bit more flexible than the common 3 inch, and some guys like that they aren't biting on ones neck. Here's a pic of some G-Force ones that have a standard seat belt buckle type lock. 79.99 Three colors, Safe Racer Company probably Summit has them too.

post-4661-141090166207_thumb.gif

Self confessed Wingnut.

Now think about it...wouldn't you rather LIVE your life, rather than watch someone else's, on Reality T.V.?

Get up off that couch!!! =)

Progress; Fuselage on all three, with outside and inside nearly complete. 8 inch extended nose. FHC done. Canard finished. ERacer wings done with blended winglets. IO540 starting rebuild. Mounting Spar. Starting strake ribs.