2024t3 Alum Tubing

Cozy1200

Spruce was out of the 3/8 2024t3 tubing when I ordered. This is the tubing used for the front center seatbelt attachment. Well since I have started, I failed to get the right tubing.

So question.... I'm pretty sure I can pick up 6060T5 tubing at the local Aluminum shop. But I'll have to substitute Aluminium for Aluminum :D

So is this reasonable o should I look for a different alloy? 2024T3 will take more effort to get.

The closest size that's listed in their catalog is 10mm x 1.6mm which equates to .393 x .063

The pieces from spruce is listed at .375 x .065

Thoughts, Suggestions?

It's that's not suggest. I may put out a request for through the local SAAA Chapter

Drew Chaplin (aka the Foam Whisperer)

---

www.Cozy1200.com - I'm a builder now! :cool:

---

Brace for impact...

Does it really matter in that particular usage point?

The pipe is there merely to stop the crushing effect of the bold & attachments. IIRC

I live in my own little world! but its OK, they know me here!

Chris Van Hoof, Johannesburg, South Africa operate from FASY (Baragwanath)

Cozy Mk IV, ZU-CZZ, IO-360 (200hp) 70x80 prop

OK, no joy tracking down 2024t3. The only quantites I can buy is 10feet at $12 a FOOT!!!! ouch.

The local supply shop suggested chrome molley. They have some 3/8 OD with a .259 ID. For you experts, would this be another possibility? Should I do anything for corrosion?

Drew Chaplin (aka the Foam Whisperer)

---

www.Cozy1200.com - I'm a builder now! :cool:

---

Brace for impact...

The local supply shop suggested chrome molley. They have some 3/8 OD with a .259 ID. For you experts, would this be another possibility? Should I do anything for corrosion?

The object here is to have 3/8" OD tubing with a slightly larger than 1/4" ID, so that the 1/4" bolts used to hold the seat belts down will fit.