Design Diffrents for lengths of main wing.

blacksniper

Angle of wing looks diffrent in the volocity then it does in the cozy. Plus the volocity has 3 feet longer wingspan then the cozy, anyone know the formula that reprensents this? The longer the wing span the less power is needed to keep at cruise speed, because the more wingspan the more lift that can be generated.

can anyone tell me if my assumptions are correct, because i am not a engineer.

thanks

scott.

Angle of wing looks diffrent in the volocity then it does in the cozy. Plus the volocity has 3 feet longer wingspan then the cozy, anyone know the formula that reprensents this?

The longer the wing span the less power is needed to keep at cruise speed, because the more wingspan the more lift that can be generated.

NO. The longer the wings, the MORE power will be required to reach the same cruise speed (all other factors being equal), because longer wings = greater lift = greater induced drag (drag from lift) = slower speed.

Remember, you only need enough lift to lift the weight of the plane. The faster you fly, the more lift the wings produce. That's why fast planes use higher wing loading / smaller wings (higher wing loading, i.e. less wing area/lb weight).

NO. The longer the wings, the MORE power will be required to reach the same cruise speed (all other factors being equal), because longer wings = greater lift = greater induced drag (drag from lift) = slower speed.

Remember, you only need enough lift to lift the weight of the plane. The faster you fly, the more lift the wings produce. That's why fast planes use higher wing loading / smaller wings (higher wing loading, i.e. less wing area/lb weight).

Again, not quite. Induced drag varies with the square of the coefficient of lift and the span loading of the aircraft. So the original poster is correct if wing area is held constant (except it's more relevant at slower speeds than cruise, see below).