Fire Wall Construcion and Engine Selection

spitzy

Hi All,

I'm about 3 or 4 months into my Cozy project and am almost done with CH4. Pretty much just need to build the firewall and it's on to CH5. Before I get into building the firewall I want to verify I'm not creating re-work for myself should I end up using the Deltahawk engine instread of Lyoming.

Any Cozys flying w/ Deltahawk engines?

Any Gotchas I need to know about?

Thanks,

Mike

Any Cozys flying w/ Deltahawk engines?

Any Gotchas I need to know about?

None that I'm aware of.

The only gotcha I'm aware of, is most builders say they wish they'd made the aluminum inserts 2x2" vs. 1x1". I'm not an engineer, (and there isn't even a Holiday Inn Express in my neighborhood.:D ), but I'd think no matter what power plant you use, it would still have to push the plane in the same spot.

"I run with scissors."

Cozy MKIV N85TT

Phase One Testing

http://home.earthlink.net/~jerskip

The only gotcha I'm aware of, is most builders say they wish they'd made the aluminum inserts 2x2" vs. 1x1".

Thanks for the reminder Jerry... my "real" firewall (AeroCanard sized) still isn't done yet.

...I'd think no matter what power plant you use, it would still have to push the plane in the same spot.

I'm not an engineer, but I read a book once, and I'd say you're exactly right. The engine will require a mount specific to the Cozy Mark IV, which should be provided (or approved) by DeltaHawk. Given that the first flight of their prototype was in a Velocity, I would bet that they'd be willing to at least provide drawings for how to fabricate a mount of the Cozy Mark IV.

Jon Matcho :busy:
Builder & Canard Zone Admin
Now:  Rebuilding Quickie Tri-Q200 N479E
Next:  Resume building a Cozy Mark IV